Guy Delisle, Joe Ollmann, GG, Jesse Jacobs, and Connor Willumsen lead this year’s Doug Wright Award nominations

Posted on 18. Apr, 2018 by in News, nominees, releases

Editorial cartoonist Duncan Macpherson to be inducted into the Giants of the North hall of fame April 18, 2018 | Nominees for the 14th annual Doug Wright Awards, recognizing the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics in three categories, were announced this morning. Duncan Macpherson (1924–1993), editorial cartoonist at the Montreal Standard, […]

Continue Reading →

Michael Deforge, Dakota McFadzean, and Patrick Kyle carry the day at 2016 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 14. May, 2016 by in ceremony, News

James Simpkins inducted into Giants of the North Hall of Fame; Darwyn Cooke and Alvin Buenaventura remembered at ceremony May 14, 2016, Toronto, ON — The best in Canadian comics and graphic novels were honoured this evening at the 2016 Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning in Toronto, including first-time nods for Dakota McFadzean and Patrick […]

Continue Reading →

Bunjevac, Tamakis, DeForge, Jacobs, Fawkes lead the nominations for 2015 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 05. Apr, 2015 by in News

Political cartoonist and ‘living legend’ Merle Tingley to be inducted into Hall of Fame April 5, 2015, Toronto, ON — The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning, which will be announced in a ceremony held at the Toronto Comics Arts Festival May 9, are proud to announce their finalists for 2015. The nominees for the 2015 […]

Continue Reading →

From majors to minis: finalists for the 2008 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 11. Jun, 2008 by in News

June 3, 2008 Toronto ON – An eclectic mix of Canada’s young and established cartooning talent has made the cut for this year’s Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning. Canada’s premier cartooning award, the Wrights were established in 2005 to recognize the best graphic novels, comics, and cartooning that the country has to offer. This […]

Continue Reading →