Rebecca Roher, Steve Wolfhard, and Henriette Valium make it a year of first-time winners at 2017 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 13. May, 2017 by in ceremony, News

May 13, 2017 | Toronto —The winners of the 13th annual Doug Wright Awards, recognizing the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics, were announced this evening at a ceremony in Toronto. One of this year’s winners was a first-time Doug Wright Award nominee, and all three are first-time winners. Doug Wright Best […]

Continue Reading →

2014 DWA ceremony wrap-up: Part Two

Posted on 28. May, 2014 by in News

So where were we? Oh yeah. Emily Carroll had just received the Pigskin Peters award for experimental or avant-garde comics! Huzzah Emily! Next up was the Doug Wright Spotlight Award (aka “The Nipper”) which is handed out to the cartoonist deemed most worthy of wider recognition. This was a hotly contested category this year which […]

Continue Reading →

The 2014 Doug Wright Awards video

Posted on 13. May, 2014 by in News, Videos

Phew! We officially now have 10 years of Doug Wright Awards ceremonies under our belt. While we love every aspect of our annual show we have a soft spot in our hearts for our annual “Nominee Video”, a 5-to-6 minute animated tribute that skewers the Best Book nominees with a knowing wink. Every year I […]

Continue Reading →