Your nominees for the 2007 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 06. Jul, 2007 by in Uncategorized

The organizers of The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian cartooning are pleased to announce their 2007 nominees for Best Book and Best Emerging Talent. This year, the 10 nominees for Canada’s premiere cartooning award feature an eclectic mix of personal memoir and travelogue to short fiction and experimental graphic fiction—all from the pens of Canada’s finest cartooning talents.

The nominees for Best Book are:

Shenzen: A Travelogue From China, Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)

This Will All End in Tears, Joe Ollman (Insomniac Press)

Scott Pilgrim and The Infinite Sadness, Bryan Lee O’Malley (ONI Press)

Gilded Lilies, Jillian Tamaki (Conundrum Press)

Nog-a-dod, Marc Bell ed. (Conundrum Press)

The nominees for Best Emerging Talent are:

Gray Horses, Hope Larson (ONI Press)

House of Sugar, Rebecca Kraatz (Tulip Tree Press)

Was She Pretty?, Leanne Shapton (Farrar, Strauss & Giroux)

Bacter-area, Keith Jones (Drawn and Quarterly)

Mendacity, Tamara Faith Berger & Sophie Cossette (Kiss Machine Presents…)

The nominees for the 3rd annual Doug Wright Awards were selected by a committee that included cartoonists Chester Brown and Seth, director Jerry Ciccoritti and comic historian Jeet Heer.

The winners will be decided by a five-member jury that includes: director Bruce McDonald, professor and writer Mark Kingwell, journalist and writer Judy MacDonald, 2006 Wright Award-winning cartoonist Lorenz Peter, and former National Post journalist Jessica Johnson.


Named after one of the most prolific Canadian cartoonists of the 20th Century, the 2007 Doug Wright Awards will honour the best in this country’s vivid and diverse field of comics and graphic novels. Wright, whose work ran in newspapers and magazines from the 1940s to the 1980s, wrote and drew strips that were unmistakably Canadian yet universally appealing. A consummate craftsman, Wright managed to carve out a successful career while remaining in his own country. 

Comments are closed.