Announcing the Nominees of the 2021 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 12. Apr, 2021 by in Uncategorized

The Doug Wright Awards are pleased to announce this year’s nominees, selected from works published by Canadian creators in the 2020 calendar year: The Doug Wright Award for best book Lonely BoysS. Bédard Pow Pow Press Familiar FaceMichael DeForgeDrawn & Quarterly ConstantlyGGKoyama Press Paul at HomeMichel RabagliatiDrawn & Quarterly Wendy, Master of ArtWalter ScottDrawn & Quarterly […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the winners of the 2020 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 10. May, 2020 by in Uncategorized

The 16th annual Doug Wright Awards took place last night. This year’s ceremony was held at a new venue for us: the Internet. Nearly 200 people tuned in on YouTube and Facebook to find out who eventually will receive this year’s trophies once Seth gets his curbside pickup service running. We’re pleased to share the names of […]

Continue Reading →

Why ‘Egghead’?

Posted on 30. Apr, 2020 by in Uncategorized

This year, we add a new prize to the Doug Wright lineup—The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book aimed primarily at readers aged zero to twelve. When we initially sat down to come up with a name for this new award, the most obvious choice was “The Nipper.” Unfortunately, we had already […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the 2020 Doug Wright Award nominees

Posted on 05. Apr, 2020 by in Uncategorized

Here they are: the nominees for the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards!  The Doug Wright Award for best book This Place: 150 Years Retold Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel and Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel, Tara Audibert, Kyle Charles, GMB Chomichuk, Natasha […]

Continue Reading →

2020 DWA Ceremony Will Be A Virtual Reality

Posted on 24. Mar, 2020 by in Uncategorized

It surely will come as a surprise to no one at this point that the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards, scheduled for Saturday, May 9th, in Toronto, will not be taking place exactly as planned. As the city, country, and world continue to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic, such gatherings are ill advised (and, potentially, soon […]

Continue Reading →

Submissions to the 2020 Doug Wright Awards are now open!

Posted on 08. Dec, 2019 by in Uncategorized

Submissions to the 2020 Doug Wright Awards are now open. Books published between January 1 and December 31, 2019, of any shape or size, in which illustrations are integral to the story, are eligible to enter, provided all creators are Canadian citizens (or permanent residents). Visit the Submissions page of the Doug Wright Awards Web […]

Continue Reading →

Conan Tobias Named Executive Director of the Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 25. Apr, 2019 by in Uncategorized

APRIL 25, 2019—The Doug Wright Awards Foundation is pleased to welcome Conan Tobias as the non-profit’s inaugural executive director.  Conan inherits the duties previously undertaken by Brad Mackay, director and co-founder of the awards, who now steps into the role of chair of the organization’s board of directors.  Conan’s new position, in addition to managing […]

Continue Reading →

Fiona Smyth, Alootook Ipellie to be inducted into the Giants of the North Canadian Cartoonist Hall of Fame

Posted on 23. Apr, 2019 by in Uncategorized

April 23, 2019—Fiona Smyth, an artist and teacher known for her groundbreaking comics tackling female sexuality, and Alootook Ipellie (1951–2007), a multi-faceted artist, writer, activist, and cartoonist recognized for his satirical comics about Inuit life in Canada, will be inducted next month into the Giants of the North Hall of Fame for Canadian cartoonists. For […]

Continue Reading →

Michael DeForge, Hartley Lin, John Martz, and Fiona Smyth lead this year’s Doug Wright Award nominees

Posted on 16. Apr, 2019 by in Uncategorized

APRIL 16, 2019—Nominees were announced this morning for the 15th annual Doug Wright Awards, recognizing the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics. Finalists for the 2019 Doug Wright Best Book Award, presented for the best English-language book published in Canada, are: A Western World (Koyama Press)Michael DeForge  Young Frances (Adhouse Books)Hartley Lin […]

Continue Reading →

The 2016 Doug Wright Awards poster by Micheal Comeau

Posted on 11. May, 2016 by in Uncategorized

Behold! The poster for the 2016 Doug Wright Awards, executed by the inimitable cartoonist (and DWA winner) Michael Comeau! I think we’re looking at some of this year’s nominees including an anxious looking Nipper in the middle. If you dig this we’ll have a limited number of risograph prints of these available at the ceremony […]

Continue Reading →