Announcing the nominees of the 19th annual Doug Wright Awards!

Posted on 29. Mar, 2023 by in Uncategorized

Here they are—the nominees for the 19th annual Doug Wright Awards!

The Doug Wright Award for best book

Kate Beaton 
Drawn & Quarterly

Time Zone J
Julie Doucet
Drawn & Quarterly

Jonathan Dyck
Conundrum Press

The Flamingo
Random House Studio

Cole Pauls
Conundrum Press

You Know, Sex
Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth
Triangle Square

The Nipper: The Doug Wright Award for emerging talent

Emily Carrington
Our Little Secret
Drawn & Quarterly

Jonathan Dyck
Conundrum Press

Kiona Callihoo Ligtvoet
We Were Younger Once
Conundrum Press

Lynette Richards
Call Me Bill
Conundrum Press/Emanata Imprint

Adam de Souza
Blind Alley No. 1, ISH
Self-Published, Silver Sprocket

The Pigskin Peters: The Doug Wright Award for best small- or micro-press book

The Life I Want
Patrick Allaby

Assorted Baggage
Matthew Daley
Black Eye Books

Where Have You Been?
Ivana Filipovich (trans: Ivana Filipovich/Andrea Hankinson)

Butterfly House
Troy Little and Brenda Hickey
Pegamoose Press

Thousand Oaks: Machine Mail (Part 3)
Blaise Moritz
Urban Farm Print and Sound

The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book

Scout is Not a Band Kid
Jade Armstrong
Random House Graphic

Paws: Mindy Makes Some Space
Michele Assarasakorn and Nathan Fairbairn

Super Family! (Simon and Chester Book 3)
Cale Atkinson
Tundra Books

The Flamingo
Random House Studio

You Know, Sex 
Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth
Triangle Square

Nominees for the 2023 Doug Wright Awards were selected from entries of books published in the 2022 calendar year. The short list and winners were chosen by a panel of three judges for each category. 

This year, a record 200 entries by Canadian authors and artists were submitted from dozens of publishers and self-published authors. 

Creators with multiple nominations include Jonathan Dyck, Guojing, Cory Silverberg, and Fiona Smyth.

Publishers of multiple nominees include Conundrum, Drawn & Quarterly, Random House Studio, and Triangle Square.

Each winner will receive a small cash prize, and the winner of The Nipper will be awarded a week-long stay at the Valleyview Artist Retreat, in Caledon, Ontario. Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees! 

Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartooning Hall of Fame
This year’s Giants of the North inductee is Henriette Valium (1959–2021), a comic book artist and painter, and the winner of the 2017 Pigskin Peters award, for his book The Palace of Champions.

The Ceremony
The Doug Wright Awards returns in-person and indoors for 2023, with host Dustin Harbin, at our new venue, the historic Arts & Letters Club, 14 Elm Street, Toronto, on Saturday, April 29th, at 8 p.m. ET. The event will also be livestreamed on YouTube. 

Thanks to this year’s judges: Sonja Ahlers, Jordan Reg. Aelick, Gillian Goerz, Dave Howard, Dave Lapp, Xiaoxiao Li, Linda Ludke, Joshua Rosen, Kat Sun, Andrew Townsend, Jay Aaron Roy, and Michel Vrana. Read more about each of our judges here

Thanks, as well, to this year’s sponsors: CrowdfundrToronto LifeKoyama Provides, Broken Pencil,Valleyview Artist RetreatStrange Adventures, the Arts & Letters ClubSuper 7the Beguiling, and the Toronto Comic Arts Festival.

About the Doug Wright Awards
The Doug Wright Awards were founded in 2005 to celebrate excellence in the field of Canadian comics. The awards are named for Doug Wright (1917–1983), the creator of the long-running strip Doug Wright’s Family (a.k.a. Nipper), one of the most widely read and loved Canadian comics of the twentieth century. 

Media Requests

19th annual Doug Wright Awards poster by Jay Stephens.

Comments are closed.