Announcing the winners of the 2020 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 10. May, 2020 by in Uncategorized

The 16th annual Doug Wright Awards took place last night. This year’s ceremony was held at a new venue for us: the Internet. Nearly 200 people tuned in on YouTube and Facebook to find out who eventually will receive this year’s trophies once Seth gets his curbside pickup service running. We’re pleased to share the names of […]

Continue Reading →

Why ‘Egghead’?

Posted on 30. Apr, 2020 by in Uncategorized

This year, we add a new prize to the Doug Wright lineup—The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book aimed primarily at readers aged zero to twelve. When we initially sat down to come up with a name for this new award, the most obvious choice was “The Nipper.” Unfortunately, we had already […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the 2020 Doug Wright Award nominees

Posted on 05. Apr, 2020 by in Uncategorized

Here they are: the nominees for the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards!  The Doug Wright Award for best book This Place: 150 Years Retold Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel and Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel, Tara Audibert, Kyle Charles, GMB Chomichuk, Natasha […]

Continue Reading →

2020 DWA Ceremony Will Be A Virtual Reality

Posted on 24. Mar, 2020 by in Uncategorized

It surely will come as a surprise to no one at this point that the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards, scheduled for Saturday, May 9th, in Toronto, will not be taking place exactly as planned. As the city, country, and world continue to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic, such gatherings are ill advised (and, potentially, soon […]

Continue Reading →

Submissions to the 2020 Doug Wright Awards are now open!

Posted on 08. Dec, 2019 by in Uncategorized

Submissions to the 2020 Doug Wright Awards are now open. Books published between January 1 and December 31, 2019, of any shape or size, in which illustrations are integral to the story, are eligible to enter, provided all creators are Canadian citizens (or permanent residents). Visit the Submissions page of the Doug Wright Awards Web […]

Continue Reading →