Doug Wright Awards Return Live and In-Person to Announce 2022 Winners

Posted on 19. Jun, 2022 by in Uncategorized

The winners of the 18th annual Doug Wright Awards were announced last night, Saturday, June 18th, at an outdoor ceremony held in Harold Town Park, in downtown Toronto. The show—a featured event of the 2022 Toronto Comic Arts Festival—was hosted by the film critic Richard Crouse, and featured appearances by past winners Jenn Woodall and David Collier (unscheduled), as […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the nominees of the 18th annual Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 16. May, 2022 by in Uncategorized

The Doug Wright Awards is pleased to announce the nominees for its 18th annual honours, selected from works published by Canadian creators during the 2021 calendar year. The Doug Wright Award for best book The Shiatsung ProjectBrigitte Archambault Conundrum Press Cyclopedia ExoticaAminder DhaliwalDrawn & Quarterly The Rock From the SkyJon KlassenCandlewick Press Stone FruitLee LaiFantagraphics Fictional FatherJoe […]

Continue Reading →

Open Call For Judges

Posted on 02. Nov, 2021 by in Uncategorized

We’re looking for people interested in judging the 2022 Doug Wright Awards. Entries in each category are evaluated by a three-member jury. Each jury consists of at least one cartoonist, one judge with industry expertise (editor, publisher, reviewer, journalist, librarian, bookseller, academic, etc.), and a third judge who either falls into one of the previous categories […]

Continue Reading →

Ways You Can Help Montreal’s Homeless

Posted on 27. May, 2021 by in Uncategorized

The Doug Wright Awards and the judges of its 2021 Egghead award recently made a donation to help Montreal’s homeless population, in light of the city’s eviction and dismantling of a homeless encampment in the Hochelaga neighbourhood. A similar eviction took place in Toronto’s Lamport Stadium Park shortly after. If you’d like to make a […]

Continue Reading →

Winners of the 2021 Doug Wright Awards announced virtually for the second year

Posted on 08. May, 2021 by in Uncategorized

Last night, Saturday, May 8th, the winners of the 17th annual Doug Wright Awards were announced, during a virtual ceremony (a featured event of the 2021 Toronto Comic Arts Festival), pre-recorded and livestreamed on Facebook and YouTube. Don McKellar once again hosted this second pandemic edition of the awards, still trapped in his garage, though […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the Nominees of the 2021 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 12. Apr, 2021 by in Uncategorized

The Doug Wright Awards are pleased to announce this year’s nominees, selected from works published by Canadian creators in the 2020 calendar year: The Doug Wright Award for best book Lonely BoysS. Bédard Pow Pow Press Familiar FaceMichael DeForgeDrawn & Quarterly ConstantlyGGKoyama Press Paul at HomeMichel RabagliatiDrawn & Quarterly Wendy, Master of ArtWalter ScottDrawn & Quarterly […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the winners of the 2020 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 10. May, 2020 by in Uncategorized

The 16th annual Doug Wright Awards took place last night. This year’s ceremony was held at a new venue for us: the Internet. Nearly 200 people tuned in on YouTube and Facebook to find out who eventually will receive this year’s trophies once Seth gets his curbside pickup service running. We’re pleased to share the names of […]

Continue Reading →

Why ‘Egghead’?

Posted on 30. Apr, 2020 by in Uncategorized

This year, we add a new prize to the Doug Wright lineup—The Egghead: The Doug Wright Award for best kids’ book aimed primarily at readers aged zero to twelve. When we initially sat down to come up with a name for this new award, the most obvious choice was “The Nipper.” Unfortunately, we had already […]

Continue Reading →

Announcing the 2020 Doug Wright Award nominees

Posted on 05. Apr, 2020 by in Uncategorized

Here they are: the nominees for the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards!  The Doug Wright Award for best book This Place: 150 Years Retold Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel and Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel, Tara Audibert, Kyle Charles, GMB Chomichuk, Natasha […]

Continue Reading →

2020 DWA Ceremony Will Be A Virtual Reality

Posted on 24. Mar, 2020 by in Uncategorized

It surely will come as a surprise to no one at this point that the 16th annual Doug Wright Awards, scheduled for Saturday, May 9th, in Toronto, will not be taking place exactly as planned. As the city, country, and world continue to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic, such gatherings are ill advised (and, potentially, soon […]

Continue Reading →