Michel Rabagliati, Steven Gilbert and Emily Carroll win big at Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 13. May, 2014 by in Uncategorized

DWA sticker

May 10, 2014, Toronto, ON — The finest in Canadian comics were honoured earlier this evening in Toronto at the 10th annual Doug Wright Awards. A feature event of the Toronto Comics Arts Festival (TCAG), the Wright Awards were hosted by actor and comedian Scott Thompson and were handed out in a ceremony at the ballroom of the Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel in downtown Toronto.

The winners of the 2014 Wright Awards are:

Paul Joins the Scouts by Michel Rabagliati (Conundrum Press) for Best Book Award
The Journal of the Main Street Secret Lodge by Steven Gilbert for The Spotlight (aka The Nipper”) Award

Emily Carroll for “Out of Skin” for The Pigskin Peters Award (recognising experimental or avant-garde comics)

The evening also saw the artists of the iconic “Canadian Whites” comics inducted into The Giants of the North: The Canadian Cartoonists Hall of Fame. Jack Tremblay, Gerry Lazare, Murray Karn and Mel Crawford — the surviving “Whites” artists — accepted the honour on behalf of the dozens of fellow artists who have since passed.

Seth and Jack Tremblay share stories before the show

Seth and Jack Tremblay share stories before the show

The winners were decided by a jury that included Jesse Brown, Nina Bunjevac and Nick Mandaag.

The Doug Wright Awards are a non-profit organization formed in 2004 to honour the lasting legacy of the late, great Canadian cartoonist Doug Wright (1917 – 1983), whose strip Doug Wright’s Family ran in newspapers in Canada and around the world from the late 1940s to the early 1980s.  Founded in 2004, the annual awards recognize the best and brightest in English-language comics and graphic novels published in the previous calendar year (including first translated editions).

MEDIA: dougwrightawards@gmail.com

Comments are closed.