Michael DeForge, Hartley Lin, John Martz, and Fiona Smyth lead this year’s Doug Wright Award nominees

Posted on 16. Apr, 2019 by in Uncategorized

APRIL 16, 2019—Nominees were announced this morning for the 15th annual Doug Wright Awards, recognizing the best work and most promising talent in Canadian comics. Finalists for the 2019 Doug Wright Best Book Award, presented for the best English-language book published in Canada, are: A Western World (Koyama Press)Michael DeForge  Young Frances (Adhouse Books)Hartley Lin […]

Continue Reading →

The 2016 Doug Wright Awards poster by Micheal Comeau

Posted on 11. May, 2016 by in Uncategorized

Behold! The poster for the 2016 Doug Wright Awards, executed by the inimitable cartoonist (and DWA winner) Michael Comeau! I think we’re looking at some of this year’s nominees including an anxious looking Nipper in the middle. If you dig this we’ll have a limited number of risograph prints of these available at the ceremony […]

Continue Reading →

Seth’s Giants of the North Merle Tingley induction speech

Posted on 19. May, 2015 by in Uncategorized

One of the hands-down highlights of our ceremony this year was Seth’s heart-warming induction speech for Merle “Ting” Tingley on the occasion of his entry into The Giants of the North Hall of Fame.  Ting, 93, was a famed cartoonist in the southern Ontario (London) region for years and actually met Doug Wright on several […]

Continue Reading →

The Twisted Genius of George Feyer

Posted on 06. Mar, 2015 by in Uncategorized

George Feyer was inducted into the Giants of the North Hall of Fame way back in 2006, our second year. Tony Feyer, his son, traveled from New York City to accept the honour for his father, and I was lucky enough to grab a drink and talk with him after the ceremony. I’ve been obsessed […]

Continue Reading →

2014 DWA ceremony wrap-up: Part One

Posted on 20. May, 2014 by in Uncategorized

So, that was a pretty decent 10th birthday party. For those of you who weren’t able to attend in person, The Doug Wright Awards celebrated its 10th anniversary this past weekend as part of the Toronto Comics Arts Festival (TCAF) in (mostly) sunny downtown Toronto. A feature event of TCAF, the DWAs were staged a […]

Continue Reading →

Michel Rabagliati, Steven Gilbert and Emily Carroll win big at Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 13. May, 2014 by in Uncategorized

May 10, 2014, Toronto, ON — The finest in Canadian comics were honoured earlier this evening in Toronto at the 10th annual Doug Wright Awards. A feature event of the Toronto Comics Arts Festival (TCAG), the Wright Awards were hosted by actor and comedian Scott Thompson and were handed out in a ceremony at the ballroom of […]

Continue Reading →

Ethan Rilly does Scott Thompson

Posted on 02. May, 2014 by in Uncategorized

As per the Wright Awards’ tradition, we have asked a talented Canadian cartoonist to draw an official portrait of our celebrity host for our annual awards ceremony. This year Kids in the Hall, Hannibal actor Scott Thompson steps back into the hosting role, which will hopefully involve less jousting with awards recipients than last year. […]

Continue Reading →

Alex Fellows’ cinematic take on the 2014 Wright Awards poster

Posted on 28. Apr, 2014 by in Uncategorized

The Doug Wright Awards are pleased to present to you our 10th anniversary poster, from the mind of Montreal cartoonist (and DWA-winner) Alex Fellows. Inspired by classic movie poster art this poster ha sit all: creepy clowns, Scott Thompson and Doug Wright’s good old Nipper! The 2014 Doug Wright Awards will be held Saturday May […]

Continue Reading →

The 10th anniversary Doug Wright Awards’ Kickstarter campaign

Posted on 25. Apr, 2014 by in Uncategorized

The Doug Wright Awards, Canada’s premiere awards organization honouring the best in comics and graphic novels, is proud to announce a new crowd-funded campaign to help support the 10th anniversary of what’s been called “quite simply, the best comic awards show in the world.” The Kickstarter campaign (which ends May 8, 2014) will help the […]

Continue Reading →

Seth, Rabagliati, DeForge, Ollmann, Carroll, McFadzean short-listed for 2014 Doug Wright Awards

Posted on 28. Mar, 2014 by in Uncategorized

Members of historic “Canadian Whites” to be inducted into Hall of Fame during 10th annual ceremony March 28, 2014, Toronto, ON — The Doug Wright Awards for Canadian Cartooning are proud to announce their 2014 finalists which includes a roster of new faces, past winners and industry stalwarts. The nominees for the 2014 Doug Wright […]

Continue Reading →